Speakers (RW)

National Speakers

Girol-Karacaoglu-160pxDr Girol Karacaoglu
Dr Girol Karacaoglu is Chief Economist at the New Zealand Treasury, Wellington. He joined the Treasury on 1 March 2012. His role is to provide strategic leadership on broad economic policy issues, in particular fiscal and monetary policy settings, and New Zealand’s international linkages. The Chief Economist role is critical to championing and lifting the quality and capability of the Treasury’s economic advice. Girol came to the Treasury from The Co-operative Bank, where he was Chief Executive for nine years. His previous roles include General Manager at Westpac NZ, Chief Economist at the National Bank of NZ, and lecturer in economics at Victoria University of Wellington. He has a PhD in Economics and an MBA, and is fluent in French and Turkish.  He has three adult daughters and one son and enjoys reading, classical music, walking, dancing, movies, and family activities.


Dame Diane Robertson

Dame Diane Robertson
Dame Diane Robertson (DNZM) is Chair of the Data Futures Working Group. She is a qualified teacher, counsellor and family therapist. She is the Chair of the James Liston Hostel Trust and the Chair of the Committee for Auckland Trust. She is a member of the Institute of Directors; a Paul Harris Fellow and was awarded a Sesquicentennial Medal for Services to the Community. Diane was appointed Dame Companion in the 2015 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.


Local Speakers 

Judge Louis Bidois20160809-tacklingpovertynz-judge-louis-bidois





Potaua Biasiny-Tule20160809-tacklingpovertynz-potaua-biasiny-tule 
Potaua Biasiny-Tule is a member of Te Tatau o Te Arawa, a partnership between Te Arawa iwi and the Rotorua Lakes Council.




Laurie Watt
Paearahi (Navigator), Te Arawa Whanau Ora